Running 5 computers -- 5 different videos -- on PC's

bnh
2 MB
Running 5 computers -- 5 different videos -- on PC's

Post by bnh » May 10th, 2015, 10:37 pm

I just purchased ArraySync. I have been using MultiScreener developed by Zach Poff since 2010. I had his MAC-based program ported to PC for XP and W7. It works great... to a point, and I thought I would try your system to make some comparisons.

There seems to be a point where keeping multiple computers in sync starts to break down. Poff admits to this problem and says he can't do much until MAX/MSP becomes more efficient.

I'd like to know if you suggest sticking to some of the same production protocols.

1) All video files should be shot in identical container formats, preferably motion jpeg (.mov), and all subsequent generations should stay in that format. I switched from .avi to .mov for this reason. Original footage is 1280 x 720p 30 fps. Only three generations are made (original, edit, and compression), and the aspect ration is reduced to 740 x 480 in the last generation to reduce file size.

2) Avoid temporal compression codecs. Use spatial compression instead, e.g. ProRes. The timescale of all videos should be identical. After ProRes compression, mine show a timescale of 1,000. I don't know if that high or not. The second generation video files rendered after editing show a timescale of 600, but they are also 20 gig in length, each.

3) Computers should be tied with wired (not wireless) connections. I use a 10/100 switch rather than a router with ethernet cables.

4) All videos should be identical in length and frame count. It just makes life easier. There is usually no audio on any of the video files. If there is audio, it comes from only the master/server computer file.

5) In my case, 4 computers chase one master/server. Each computer must have its own, unique IP address on the LAN network.

6) All firewalls off, and Windows 7 has plenty.