HELP.

Post Reply
OmniKnight
4 MB
Posts: 5
Joined: March 3rd, 2008, 6:53 pm

HELP.

Post by OmniKnight » March 3rd, 2008, 7:00 pm

Running an LCIII with Apple VGA monitor on OS 7.6

Trying to run some older EGA 16-color games, and having issues. Even if I set the colors down to 16, I'll see four instances of the game across the top of the screen, with varying colors amongst each. Unfortunately, in the Monitors Control Panel, it won't let me set the screen resolution to anything except '640 x 480, 67Hz'

Please let me know if there's ANYTHING that can be done. Thanks!
User avatar
Turboladdade
1024 MB
Posts: 1411
Joined: October 31st, 2007, 10:44 pm

Re: HELP.

Post by Turboladdade » March 3rd, 2008, 7:14 pm

Can you be more specific about what kind of display this is? Are you saying you're seeing four copies of your game on one display?

Try taking a screenshot, by holding down Command + Shift + 3... open the screenshot file "Picture 1" on your hard disk, and see if it shows the same thing wrong with the screen. If it doesn't, then it's probably a hardware problem with the monitor or the connection. If it does, then it's probably a software problem.
I am now telling the computer exactly what it can do.
OmniKnight
4 MB
Posts: 5
Joined: March 3rd, 2008, 6:53 pm

Re: HELP.

Post by OmniKnight » March 3rd, 2008, 7:23 pm

Thanks for the reply. I tried your suggestion - took a screen print. When I opened the picture, I saw exactly what I see on the screen when trying to start the game, as described in my original post.

Like I said, it's software built to be run in EGA resolution. I'm just not sure how to trick my computer into thinking it's EGA when I can't adjust the screen resolution via the Monitors Control Panel.
OmniKnight
4 MB
Posts: 5
Joined: March 3rd, 2008, 6:53 pm

Re: HELP.

Post by OmniKnight » March 3rd, 2008, 7:26 pm

Oops. Forgot to add info on the monitor. It's one of the Apple 12" VGA monitors. Looking at the back:

Macintosh Color Display

FCC ID - BCGM1212
Family Number - M1212
Factory ID - SDN
User avatar
Turboladdade
1024 MB
Posts: 1411
Joined: October 31st, 2007, 10:44 pm

Re: HELP.

Post by Turboladdade » March 3rd, 2008, 7:27 pm

The LC III, and for that matter no Macintosh display that I know of, will support 640×350 resolution. In fact I don't even know any games written for that resolution... what game is this?

I'm having trouble visualizing the problem you're having - is there any way for you to post that screen shot?
I am now telling the computer exactly what it can do.
OmniKnight
4 MB
Posts: 5
Joined: March 3rd, 2008, 6:53 pm

Re: HELP.

Post by OmniKnight » March 3rd, 2008, 7:34 pm

It's all of the older original Sierra games (Space Quest 1&2, Leisure Suit Larry 1, etc.) I could have been speaking inaccurately when I said "EGA" ... I know the PC counterparts are considered EGA, but that may not be accurate for the Mac versions. Sorry - I was only 7 or 8 when most of this stuff came out :)

Regardless, these are definitely the Macintosh/Macintosh II versions of the games.

Unfortunately, there's no way for me to post a screenshot right now, as the computer doesn't yet have a NIC, and I don't own a USB floppy for my MBP. I'll be installing an Ethernet card in the LCIII in the coming days, as soon as it arrives.
User avatar
Turboladdade
1024 MB
Posts: 1411
Joined: October 31st, 2007, 10:44 pm

Re: HELP.

Post by Turboladdade » March 3rd, 2008, 7:56 pm

OmniKnight wrote:I'll be installing an Ethernet card in the LCIII in the coming days, as soon as it arrives.
Great, then you'll want to transfer it to your MacBook Pro using this tutorial, open the screenshot using Preview, or Photoshop, or iPhoto, or whatever, and save it as a JPEG, then post it here so we can all take a look and help you solve this problem.
I am now telling the computer exactly what it can do.
OmniKnight
4 MB
Posts: 5
Joined: March 3rd, 2008, 6:53 pm

Re: HELP.

Post by OmniKnight » March 3rd, 2008, 7:59 pm

Awesome! Thanks a bunch. I'll post here soon.
minimalist
16 MB
Posts: 17
Joined: February 4th, 2008, 3:46 pm

Re: HELP.

Post by minimalist » March 10th, 2008, 5:06 am

I don't recall the 12" Apple monitors being capable of displaying a resolution of 640 x 480. I had an Apple 12" monitor with my old LC and it was fixed at a 512 x 384 resolution. Don't know the model number of the old 12" monitor that I had; I trashed it long ago. I believe it was Apple's 13" and 14" monitors that were fixed at 640 x 480. Apple's 15" monitors usually allowed you to display anywhere from 640 x 480 to 832 x 624. The old 17" Apple monitors supported resolutions up to 1024 x 768, while the old 16" Apple monitors were fixed at 832 x 624.

Is it an actual Apple monitor that you are using?
Post Reply