clients do not see server

Post Reply
chiptoe
2 MB
Posts: 3
Joined: January 30th, 2012, 11:51 pm

clients do not see server

Post by chiptoe » January 30th, 2012, 11:58 pm

I have one array sync server and 2 clients with movies loaded, and when I click "start client", it never finds the server.

I am on a wireless network, but they have static IP addresses. They are:

left: 172.22.125.124
center: 172.22.113.115
right: 172.22.119.211

Do they need to be on the same subnet - is that why it is failing?

Is there anything I can do to force the clients to look at a certain IP address?
User avatar
Turboladdade
1024 MB
Posts: 1411
Joined: October 31st, 2007, 10:44 pm

Re: clients do not see server

Post by Turboladdade » January 31st, 2012, 8:35 am

chiptoe wrote:Do they need to be on the same subnet - is that why it is failing?
Yes, they must be on the same subnet.
I am now telling the computer exactly what it can do.
chiptoe
2 MB
Posts: 3
Joined: January 30th, 2012, 11:51 pm

Re: clients do not see server

Post by chiptoe » February 1st, 2012, 11:50 am

I changed IP addresses, and they are all on the same subnet and they still do not see the server. Any other thoughts? Is there a particular port that they need to communicate through?

thanks -
User avatar
Turboladdade
1024 MB
Posts: 1411
Joined: October 31st, 2007, 10:44 pm

Re: clients do not see server

Post by Turboladdade » February 1st, 2012, 1:05 pm

Why don't you just have them all retrieve IP addresses and settings from your router? They don't need to have static IP addresses.
I am now telling the computer exactly what it can do.
chiptoe
2 MB
Posts: 3
Joined: January 30th, 2012, 11:51 pm

Re: clients do not see server

Post by chiptoe » February 1st, 2012, 1:42 pm

because I am on a massive campus wireless network, and when i did that originally they ended up getting IP addresses in different subnets (i have no idea why). I have them locked down now (and on the same subnet), and the clients still do not see server. any ideas?
User avatar
Turboladdade
1024 MB
Posts: 1411
Joined: October 31st, 2007, 10:44 pm

Re: clients do not see server

Post by Turboladdade » February 2nd, 2012, 11:01 am

My only suggestion would be to just find a cheap wired router somewhere and make your own closed-circuit local network to run these on. I can't really say what the problem could be, but if you're on a "massive" public network, it probably isn't going to work out for you.
I am now telling the computer exactly what it can do.
ravnorodom
2 MB
Posts: 3
Joined: February 10th, 2012, 1:38 pm

Re: clients do not see server

Post by ravnorodom » February 13th, 2012, 4:11 pm

I had the same issue on Windows 7 setup. The ArraySync Client (on Windows 7) doesn't see the main ArraySync (also on Windows 7) laptop. It took me hours to figure it out. If you are using Windows 7 to host as ArraySync Server, you must turn off the firewall on that laptop in order for "ArraySync Clients" to see it. If you don't want to turn off Firewall, then configure it to make an exception on ArraySync.
visionmill
4 MB
Posts: 4
Joined: January 27th, 2012, 10:00 am

Re: clients do not see server

Post by visionmill » February 29th, 2012, 5:58 am

I have 36 machines running on a closed network all getting dchp address from an airport extreme. The master has a static ip. Some machine find the server quickly, others take about 5 minutes. One in particular has been looking for the server for about 30 minutes now and still hasn't found it. Restarting doesn't fix this.I can ping the master from the client fine. Any suggestions?
Post Reply