Leopard on Blue & White G3 w/G4 Upgrade?

Post Reply
User avatar
Quail
4 MB
Posts: 6
Joined: March 12th, 2008, 2:21 pm

Leopard on Blue & White G3 w/G4 Upgrade?

Post by Quail » March 12th, 2008, 2:23 pm

I've read reports that people have had a surprisingly easy time getting Leopard to run on G4-upgrade PowerBook G3 Pismos, simply by installing leopard in FireWire Target Disk mode - no hacks or anything required. I am wondering if I can achieve the same thing on a Blue & White G3 upgraded with a 1ghz G4 from Sonnet, and a Radeon 9200 video card. Will this simply boot right into Leopard just like the Pismos do?

Has anyone tried such a thing, or know of any reports? Thanks...
User avatar
Turboladdade
1024 MB
Posts: 1405
Joined: October 31st, 2007, 10:44 pm

Re: Leopard on Blue & White G3 w/G4 Upgrade?

Post by Turboladdade » March 14th, 2008, 12:26 pm

You know, I've been wondering the same thing. I used to have a Blue & White Power Mac G3, which was my main computer for several years. Now they're getting so cheap on eBay and Craigs list, often in the $20 - $30 range. This might make a great secondary computer to my Mac Pro, especially if it can be made to run Leopard.
I am now telling the computer exactly what it can do.
madmann
32 MB
Posts: 56
Joined: December 5th, 2007, 6:49 pm

Re: Leopard on Blue & White G3 w/G4 Upgrade?

Post by madmann » March 14th, 2008, 8:40 pm

I am running tiger on my B&W at 700 mhz but i dont think leopard will work.

even if it could how slow would it be.
User avatar
Turboladdade
1024 MB
Posts: 1405
Joined: October 31st, 2007, 10:44 pm

Re: Leopard on Blue & White G3 w/G4 Upgrade?

Post by Turboladdade » March 14th, 2008, 8:57 pm

madmann wrote:I am running tiger on my B&W at 700 mhz but i dont think leopard will work
B&Ws can run Tiger even without G4 upgrades. Pismos also can run Tiger, but cannot run Leopard in G3 form. However, they can run Leopard with G4 upgrades as has been reported many times. I don't see why, then, a G3 B&W wouldn't be able to either?
I am now telling the computer exactly what it can do.
User avatar
Turboladdade
1024 MB
Posts: 1405
Joined: October 31st, 2007, 10:44 pm

Re: Leopard on Blue & White G3 w/G4 Upgrade?

Post by Turboladdade » March 15th, 2008, 8:59 pm

This topic intrigued me so much I went on Craig's List and now have two 400mhz B&W G3s to experiment with...
I am now telling the computer exactly what it can do.
User avatar
mrkramer
32 MB
Posts: 61
Joined: December 19th, 2007, 11:00 pm

Re: Leopard on Blue & White G3 w/G4 Upgrade?

Post by mrkramer » March 16th, 2008, 3:41 pm

from looking on Low End Mac if you can get it working you will be the first one. http://lowendmac.com/osx/leopard/unsupported.html
madmann
32 MB
Posts: 56
Joined: December 5th, 2007, 6:49 pm

Re: Leopard on Blue & White G3 w/G4 Upgrade?

Post by madmann » March 28th, 2008, 9:57 pm

well when does the b&w arrive.

I expect that the adb bus in the b&w may be part of the issue

has anyone have 10.5 running on a yikes g4 the only difference from it and a upgraded b&w would be the adb

just a thought

michael
User avatar
Turboladdade
1024 MB
Posts: 1405
Joined: October 31st, 2007, 10:44 pm

Re: Leopard on Blue & White G3 w/G4 Upgrade?

Post by Turboladdade » March 29th, 2008, 2:03 am

It arrived about two weeks ago although I don't have a G4 processor for it yet, so it's still running Tiger as of this moment. And quite nicely might I say. I loaded it up with 640MB of memory and an ATI Radeon 7000 video card so it runs surprisingly well. Eventually I will buy a G4 for it and try Leopard.
I am now telling the computer exactly what it can do.
User avatar
mrkramer
32 MB
Posts: 61
Joined: December 19th, 2007, 11:00 pm

Re: Leopard on Blue & White G3 w/G4 Upgrade?

Post by mrkramer » March 29th, 2008, 7:21 pm

madmann wrote:I expect that the adb bus in the b&w may be part of the issue
I think that the problem is the PCI grapics and leopard needs AGP graphics, or at least that is what I have gotten from searching around the internet.
User avatar
Turboladdade
1024 MB
Posts: 1405
Joined: October 31st, 2007, 10:44 pm

Re: Leopard on Blue & White G3 w/G4 Upgrade?

Post by Turboladdade » March 29th, 2008, 7:32 pm

madmann wrote:I expect that the adb bus in the b&w may be part of the issue
I forgot to mention that ADB busses were present in Macs until mid-way through the aluminum PowerBook G4 series.
I am now telling the computer exactly what it can do.
madmann
32 MB
Posts: 56
Joined: December 5th, 2007, 6:49 pm

Re: Leopard on Blue & White G3 w/G4 Upgrade?

Post by madmann » April 24th, 2008, 9:43 pm

dan keep us posted. My blue and white is waiting to know the results.
User avatar
Turboladdade
1024 MB
Posts: 1405
Joined: October 31st, 2007, 10:44 pm

Re: Leopard on Blue & White G3 w/G4 Upgrade?

Post by Turboladdade » April 25th, 2008, 9:42 am

Once I go home for Summer break I'll be fiddling around with the G3s I've acquired. That won't be for a month yet.
I am now telling the computer exactly what it can do.
Post Reply