iWork 09, AppleWorks & MathType: Advice requested

JimmyMac
8 MB
iWork 09, AppleWorks & MathType: Advice requested

Post by JimmyMac » February 26th, 2009, 8:58 pm

I'm looking for some advice on what I should purchase. I have two eMacs: the newer one runs OS X 10.4.11, has 1GB memory and a 1.42 GHz PowerPC G4 processor, the older one runs OS X 10.2.8, has 256 mB memory and a 700 MHz Power PC G4 processor. I've been using AppleWorks 6.2.4 on the older eMac along with MathType 5.1.

I've just purchased the newer eMac and have AppleWorks 6.2.9 on it, but my CD of MathType will not work because I have no System 9 on the new machine. I'm considering upgrading to MathType 6, which supposedly will work on my newer eMac, and perhaps purchasing iWork 09, and I'm interested in getting opinions and/or advice from people more knowledgeable than myself.

I'm a semi-retired math teacher who has thousands of documents on the hard drive of my older eMac - all were created over the past 10 years or so and most have some expressions from MathType. I work part-time at a local college and do a fair amount of tutoring, so I print several of those documents every week. The computers at my college all use Microsoft Office (Word). All of these documents are on the older computer (and on back-up CDs) but I've not yet transferred any to the newer computer.

I would very much appreciate any recommendations on which software I should purchase and why. Thanks for any help that you can give.
Turboladdade
1024 MB

Re: iWork 09, AppleWorks & MathType: Advice requested

Post by Turboladdade » February 26th, 2009, 9:22 pm

Well, iWork is definitely a great product and I use it almost exclusively. But I'm not so sure that it would really help you in your specific situation. I have no experience with MathType, but I'm pretty confident your school's PCs won't be able to open any Apple-specific document formats like AppleWorks.