Storage shows 200 GB in BACKUP but where and what is this?

hfrehde
4 MB
Storage shows 200 GB in BACKUP but where and what is this?

Post by hfrehde » May 2nd, 2012, 2:22 am

I am new to MAC so probably a silly question: I have a Mac Book Pro with OS X 10.7.3. I connected an external HD with 2TB and loaded about 500gb of stuff from my PCs on there. Then I hooked up the Mac and time machine asked me if I wanted to use the External HD as back up. I agreed. After it was doing "it's thing" I moved an Itunes library from the external HD drive to the MAC (approx 400GB) but then I realized that I didnt want everything from itunes on there so i started deleting a lot and only left about 20gb (iTunes Media onMAC folder shows 20.1GB). When I look at Storage for my MAC HD it shows that 299 GB of 500GB are being used and that 195GB are under backup.... How can I see what that 195GB is and how can I free up that space on the MAC HD? Thanks.
Turboladdade
1024 MB

Re: Storage shows 200 GB in BACKUP but where and what is this?

Post by Turboladdade » May 2nd, 2012, 9:59 am

Firstly, if you use an external drive for Time Machine backup, then you aren't supposed to use it for anything else. You can of course partition it beforehand, but it'll have to use a GUID partition map and the Time Machine partition will have to be Mac OS Extended (Journaled).

I'm confused about where you're seeing this "'195GB are under backup" - can you post a screenshot?
I am now telling the computer exactly what it can do.
hfrehde
4 MB

Post by hfrehde » May 2nd, 2012, 2:48 pm

I purchased an external hd drive that was MAC compatible with 2TB and when I set it up, it asked me if I wanted to split the HD, which I did: 500 GB for windows and the rest for MAC. My MAC recognizes it and this seems to cause no problem.