Worried about wiping my iPhone 3S

Post Reply
deshels
1 MB
Posts: 1
Joined: August 4th, 2011, 12:37 pm

Worried about wiping my iPhone 3S

Post by deshels » August 4th, 2011, 1:02 pm

Hi there
I've been having trouble with my laptop for a few months which is mainly due to memory issues. As I result when opening iTunes none of my library was present. I solved this problem by finding the library file in my iTunes folder and dragging it to my library in iTunes - the result - all my music is now present.
My problem now is when I plug my iPhone in it is being detected as iPhone instead of 'Helen's iPhone.
I'm worried that if I sync with iTunes it will wipe the phone as it seems to be seeing it as a different device.
I'm desperate to upgrade to the new iPhone software so I can get some uptodate apps and know you can turn the automatically sync option off.
Can anyone tell me if I go ahead and update software will it wipe my phone? I know I can transfer purchases but I am worried I will lose all my SMS history and photos. I've backed photos up.
Thanks - I really appreciate any advice
Post Reply